Observer wins 13 awards from ICPA

The Augustana Observer received 13 awards at the 31st annual Illinois College Press Association’s convention, which took place on Feb. 22.  The staff was recognized for their work in multiple categories for non-daily publications under 4,000 (students). Seniors Jessica Raines, Brennan Casey and Kyle Soyer were each lauded for three awards. Raines received first place for sports news story and in-depth reporting categories and third place for front page layout with Editor-in-Chief Megan Boedecker. Casey received first place for sports game story, second place for sports page design and an honorable mention for sports feature story. Soyer received first place for sports photo, second place for photo essay, and first place photo essay with sophomore Linnea Ritchie and first-year Ian Magnuson. Ritchie also received second place for feature photo. Other individual awards went to sophomore Shylee Garrett and former international student Angelica Lindqvist for second place in feature page design and sports feature story respectively.